Posted by: Laurel | October 11, 2009

Some Thoughts on H1N1


I have been tending to Anthony, my husband, since last Tuesday when we went to the ER.  The diagnosis, the Swine Flu.  Now while I have nothing but respect for the medical profession, I was almost speechless at the way this ‘diagnosis’ came to be.  He had been feeling ‘run down’ since the Friday before-an uncharacteristic phrase for him to use, to say the least.  But he doggedly went to work and just did not seem himself when he returned home.  That Tuesday he phoned me to let me in on a little tidbit, “I coughed up blood in my workmask!”-as if this was a quite clever aside.  Men.

Anyhow, long blog short, he came home from work, and did not want to go to the hospital, claiming the blood was now from a nosebleed.  Uh huh.  I went on with my evening as if nothing was wrong, and went to bed.  Within an hour he woke me and told me it was ‘time.’  I knew he would, I just had to let him figure it out on his own.  Thank God.

So anyhow, when we got there, the ER entrance had stands in front containing gloves, masks, and sanitary wipes for all to use.  We did, and he was triaged in 30 minutes.  Once inside the exam room, the nurse entered with 2 H1N1 pamphlets, one from the CDC and one from the Health Dep’t.

Now Anthony had not yet been seen by the doctor, and from all of my research, the symptoms are virtually the same.  How on earth are H1N1 statistics kept properly if assumption is their only diagnostic tool?  Testing is performed only on those in high-risk groups or those whose symptoms are so severe that they need hospitalization.

I get that there are sample tests out there-percentages being tested and all-but pure numbers are impossible to report.

But hey, what do I know?  :o)

Please Reply!

Categories